2021 NOTO Executive Director’s Award Recipient – Harald Lohn

I am pleased to announce that the recipient of the 2021 NOTO Executive Director’s Award is Harald Lohn of KaBeelo Lodge.
KaBeelo Lodge Logo
I wanted to take this opportunity to recognize Harald Lohn for his tireless efforts on behalf of the tourism industry in Northwestern Ontario.
In 1983 Harald Lohn and his wife Ann purchased their lodge from Harald’s cousin Ken and Betty Lohn who had derived the name from the letters in their names thus KaBeeLo Lodge.  Harald started as a pilot but soon realized it was more important to run the lodge than fly and needed time to protect their investment from over harvesting by the forest product companies.  He became involved with the Kenora District Campowners Association (KDCA) to help lobby on behalf of the resource-based tourism industry and served 9 or 10 years as President. 
Harald also found time to serve on the Destination Northern Ontario’s Angling Product Development committee and worked to establish a destination marketing fund with several other lodge owners in the Northwest. 
Over the more recent years, Harald and his wife Ann have been slowly passing the operation of the business to his son Eric and his wife Allysson to carry on the family tradition of running the main lodge on Confederation Lake plus 20 outposts and their air service. Ann and Harald are eager to spend more time with their 5 grandchildren and enjoy their life to its fullest as they look upon their accomplishments in the tourism industry.
Harald has always been a supporter of NOTO’s lobbying efforts and over the years has always been eager to provide his advice and share his knowledge with NOTO Executive Directors and Board members.
Often times, as volunteers come and go from various levels of involvement, we neglect to thank them for the work they provide. I did not want Harald’s work to go unrecognized. Thank you, Harald for your conviction and your passion for tourism in Northern Ontario and congratulations on being the 2021 recipient of this award.