2013 NOTO Conference in Review

header image

2013 Northern Ontario Tourism Conference Hailed a Successful Event
The November event that took place in Sault Ste. Marie generated some very positive feedback from attendees.  We did things a little different this year allowing for more interactive sessions and workshops to let operators in attendance to get the most out of our presentations. By all accounts this was a very positive move. 
We wish to take this opportunity to thank all of those who attended and participated in the discussions. We look forward to more of your feedback to help us shape our 2014 event. We would also like to thank all of our sponsors that helped to raise awareness as well as support the event.
Brunswick Group (LUND Boats
Bow Narrows Camp
Tourism Northern Ontario
Pine Portage Lodge
Yamaha Motor Canada
Canada Brokerlink
Ontario Out of Doors
Mercury Marine
ShowSpan Inc.
Bearskin Airlines
Gougeon Insurance
Globalstar Canada Satellite Co.
All-Canada Show
Standard Resort Insurance Program
Porter Airlines
The Graphix Works
Algoma Central Railway

This year we worked in partnership with Algoma Kinniwabi Travel Association to hold our organizations’ AGMs in the same location. We are very much appreciative of the support and collaboration that Carol and her staff provided. It was great to see so many new faces out to our event.
Some of the presentations from the conference will be loaded onto the NOTO website over the coming weeks.  We will alert members to their availability.
Next year, we will be looking at locations in the northwest for the conference.  We will be holding discussions with other organizations like Tourism Northern Ontario and Sunset Country to once again look at combining our events to bring more value and attendees to the event.

And the Award Goes to…
We are pleased to announce that all of the NOTO Awards were handed out this year.  The award winners were as follows:
Bob Giles Award Brenda Baughman, Bow Narrows Camp – This years’ award was presented by Neil Coburn the new Director of the Tourism Policy Brand of the Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport.  It was presented to Brenda in recognition of her long career in tourism and for her strong and active commitment to improving the tourism industry in Northern Ontario.
President’s Award Tourism Northern Ontario (TNO) – David MacLachlan accepted this award as the Executive Director of the organization.  Bob Garson, NOTO President was pleased to recognize the positive work that the TNO has done over the past year to help grow and support the tourism industry in the north.
Executive Director’s Award Betty McGie, Pine Portage Lodge – In recognition of her dedication, significant contribution and ongoing commitment to NOTO and the industry, Laurie Marcil was honored to present Betty McGie with her first Executive Director’s Award.
Rozelle Hughes Award Marg McLeod, Howey Bay Camps & Outposts – Brenda Baughman had the pleasure of presenting this award to Marg for her longstanding contribution to the tourism industry as an outstanding tourist operator.  Her passion for people and the lifestyle has truly been a positive force for the industry.
Allied of The Year Award Jocelyn Filippini, Gougeon Insurance – Cindy Lebrun presented Jocelyn with this award in recognition of her dedication, support and participation in furthering the goals and objectives of NOTO.  Jocelyn was also recognized for her superb customer service.
Outfitter of The Year Award Bob Garson, Garson’s Fly-in Outposts – Jocelyn Filippini presented this years’ Allied Award (Outfitter of the Year) to Bob on behalf of all NOTO Allied members.  Bob was given this award for his dedication nto the organization and the industry and for making an outstanding positive contribution to the tourism environment through NOTO during very challenging times.  She also recognized his positive outlook that greatly assisted the office and the Board over the past year.
Conservation Award John Fahlgren, Sydney Lake Lodge – Hugh Carlson presented John with this award to recognize him for his years of dedication and his countless demonstrations of leadership in the stewardship of the natural resources.  As well it was noted that John was a very dedicated tourist operator and NOTO Board member for many years.
Congratulations to all of our fine winners for their achievements!  

NOTO 2013 Election Bring New Faces to the NOTO Board of Directors
As a result of the 2013 NOTO Board Elections, we are pleased to announce the following new Board members:
Jacqui Haukeness, Rugby Lake Lodge in Dryden – Northwest Director
Urs Brunner, Auld Reekie Lodge in Gowganda – Northeast Director
Hilary Chambers, Pine Grove Resort Cottages in Port Loring – South Director
John Fahlgren, Sydney Lake Lodge from the Northwest retired from the Board this year.  We would like to say a huge THANK YOU to John who served as a Director as well as Secretary Treasurer during his 12 years on the NOTO Board.  We are very appreciative of the dedication and support that John has given over the years. He has been a tremendous advocate for all members and we are sure that he will continue to be our industry’s “ambassador” for years to come.
Just before conference, the NOTO Board accepted the resignation of Art Perry from Elk Cabins (Northeast Region).  Art was unable to commit the time to the Board and felt that the position should be opened for someone else. This left a vacancy in the Northeast Region which was filled by Urs Brunner as listed above.  A thank you to Art goes out from the NOTO staff and Board for your service to the membership.
The results of the election of the Executive members of the Board are as follows:
President – Bob Garson, Garson’s Fly-In Outposts
Vice President – Brenda Baughman, Bow Narrows Camp
Secretary/Treasurer – Sue Crane, Crane’s Lochaven Wilderness Lodge
Congratulations to all of our Board members, we look forward to working with each of you to continue the good work that NOTO does.

footer image